Haitian Relief

I go round the corner to my neighbourhood “alternative lifestyle restaurant” for a salad and glass of wine. For goodness sakes, there’s a sign announcing that they have contributed today $2,000 dollars to Haitian relief in the name of their regular customers. I’m one, a regular customer.

My high school emails to say it is contributing – in my name. And my university. And two local hospitals, one of which I have on my charity list. And my neighbourhood watch association. And Habitant for Humanity, another charity to which I sometimes send a cheque.

In this household we decided, after considerable discussion, to contribute through one of our (other) regular charities.

The world population increasingly thinks as a global unit. It’s heart warming. We know aid can go astray. We know that it sometimes ends up with the local oppressors. “Trade not Aid” is a good slogan for the sunny days. In an swift emergency: Aid.

“What plagues and what portents, what mutiny,

What raging of the sea, shaking of earth,

Commotions in the winds, frights, changes, horrors,

Divert and crack, rend and deracinate

The unity and married calm of states

Quite from their fixture!”

Shakespeare, Troilus and Cressida

0 Responses to “Haitian Relief”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

