The Northernblue Electronic Confederation

Want a Canadian politics text that’s loaded with primary documents? Alastair Sweeny’s History of Canada Online might be it. That’s from Northern Blue Publishing Electronic Textbooks. I took a look at the section entitled The Path to Union 1864-67. Worth investigating, I’d say. northernblue@gmail.com.

There’s a “resource” entitled Newfoundland Debates on Confederation. I want to get that open. I remember the trouble we had recovering the Newfoundland debates when we were assembling Canada’s Founding Debates (University of Toronto, 2003).

I’m still publishing in the old fashioned way. G.P. Browne’s Document on the Confederation of British North America is out! (McGill-Queen’s University Press.) It’s the old Carleton Library edition of 1969 – every precious word, page for page – but larger, properly leaded, readable, on ancient-forest free paper. Paul Romney says that my Introductory Essay is “trenchant.” I’m taking it as a compliment.

12 Responses to “The Northernblue Electronic Confederation”


  1. 1 Colin Pearce November 18, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    On the question of good readings for a course in Canadian Political Science my reading list would include items from the list below on the grounds that these are in large measure the works in the field of political history and philosophy by which the “The Makers of Canada” were educated or which had a high likelihood of being on the bookshelves of the educated in the formative period of Canadian history.

    Colin D. Pearce
    University of Guelph-Humber

    • John Austin, “The Province of Jurisprudence Determined” (London: John Murray,1906).
    • Henry Lord Brougham, “Political Philosophy” 3 vols. (London: Charles Knight,1844)
    • __________________, “History of England and France Under the House of Lancaster With an Introductory View of the Reformation” (London: John Murray,1855)
    • Edmund Burke, “An Appeal from the Old to the New Whigs” in Works (London: Thomas M’Lean,1823), vol.6
    * James Fennimore Cooper, “The American Democrat” (Indianapolis: Liberty Classics,1956)
    • Jean-Louis DeLolme, “The Constitution of England, Or, An Account of the English Government” (London: J. Hatchard,1834)
    • Benjamin Disraeli, “Whigs and Whiggism” (New York: Macmillan,1918).
    • Francois Guizot, “General History of Civilization in Europe From the Fall of the Roman Empire to the French Revolution”(New York: D. Appleton,1843)
    • Henry Hallam, “The Constitutional History of England From the Accession of Henry VII to the Death of George II” 3 vols. (London: Dent,1832)
    • David Hume, “Essays Moral, Political and Literary” (Indianapolis: Liberty Classics, 1985)
    • __________, “The History of England From the Invasion of Julius Caesar to the Abdication of James II” 6 vols., (Boston: Crosby, Nichols, Lee and Company,1860)
    • “Selections From the Edinburgh Review” ed. by Maurice Cross 4 vols. (Paris: Beaudry’s European Library,1833)
    • W.E.H. Lecky, “History of European Morals From Augustus to Charlemagne”(New York: D. Appleton,1875).
    • Thomas Babington Macaulay, “Review of James Mill’s Essays on Government: Utilitarian Logic and Politics,” Edinburgh Review 49(1829).
    • _______________________, “Bentham’s Defence of Mill: Utilitarian System of Philosophy,” Edinburgh Review 49(1829), 273-299.
    • _______________________,”Utilitarian Theory of Government, and the ‘Greatest Happiness Principle,” Edinburgh Review 50(1829),99-125.
    • _______________________,”The History of England From the Accession of James the Second” 4 vols. (London: Longman, Green, Longman, Roberts and Green,1864).
    • John Stuart Mill, “Disserations and Discussions” (London: George Routledge,n.d.)
    • William Paley, “A View of the Evidences of Christianity in Three Parts” (London: Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge, n.d.)
    * Henry St. John, Viscount Bolingbroke, “The Idea of a Patriot King” (New York: Bobbs-Merrill,1965)

    • 2 Colin Pearce November 18, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      Addendum:
      Just a personal anecdote to do with the reading list above:- About ten years ago I went downtown for the “Open Doors” day in Toronto. I took the occasion to go to the home of George Brown down on Beverley Street. One of the rooms in this beautiful house was full of bookshelves containing many volumes and “sets” behind glass shutters. I had to move promptly through with the visiting traffic but from my quick scan of the shelves I could see some of the items in the list above amongst the volumes peopling Brown’s extensive collection. – CP

  2. 3 www.zeitreise-2030.de January 19, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    I found your weblog web site on google and verify a couple

    of of your early posts. Proceed to keep up the excellent operate.
    I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader.

    In search of forward to studying extra from you in a while!

  3. 4 Valentin April 6, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about home technology.
    Regards

  4. 5 http://rafaelaface.com.ar/groups/golf-tours-in-spain/ April 19, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing. The

    clearness in your post is simply great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep

    updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the

    rewarding work.

  5. 6 www.iamsport.org May 2, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    First off I want to say excellent blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve
    had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.

    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to
    be lost simply just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Appreciate it!

  6. 7 PayTV Anbieter May 10, 2013 at 4:38 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your
    intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be
    giving us something enlightening to read?

  7. 8 ibm lot-911 training May 31, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform. ibm lot-911 training

  8. 9 hcg prescription June 8, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this weblog on regular basis to take updated from most up-to-date information.

  9. 10 clenbuterol research chemical June 23, 2013 at 1:52 am

    You’ve made some decent points there. I looked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  10. 11 www.ricardo-kaka.com August 7, 2013 at 9:11 am

    Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some

    guidance from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up
    your own blog? I’m not

    very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but

    I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

  11. 12 researchpeptidechemicals July 29, 2014 at 12:27 am

    Research Chemicals LIOTHYRONINE

    These companies have their own websites where they showcase all the available products with their profiles. Peptides are affordable to buy from them through online order. In USA and other countries,

    http://www.research-peptides-research-chemicals.com


Leave a Reply

